Why is depression so hard to talk about?

Why is it so easy to talk about our physical illnesses, yet so incredibly difficult to admit when we are depressed?

If someone asks, “How are you?” it’s so easy to say, “I’m really sick. I’ve been sick for weeks. ” But “I’m depressed. I’ve been depressed for weeks,” almost never leaves my lips.

A few months ago I was eating lunch with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while. I felt on the verge of tears and I desperately wanted to tell her: “I think I’m depressed.” But there was this lump in my throat and I couldn’t get the words out. When we left, I put on my sunglasses to hide the tears that were starting to stream down my face.

The thing is everyone gets depressed. It’s such a human emotion. We all feel it at some point and to varying degrees. Why can’t we just admit it?

Leave a Reply

