My Halmoni is a Trendsetter

“It’s been 28 years since I stopped eating flour,” my grandmother says to me proudly as she scoops some home-made dwenjang into a jar for me to take home.

“It’s not because it didn’t taste good,” she explains.”I really like eating udon and noodles. But after I eat them my stomach hurts.”

My grandmother has been listening to her body since before I was born. Other things she’s stopped eating- milk, sugar, meat. Basically my grandmother lives a gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, mostly vegetarian, organic life. And she started before any of those things were a fad. I’m always impressed that no one told her to do these things because they were good for her. She just knew.

“Korean food is good for you,” she says. “Don’t you feel better now that you eat more Korean food and less bread? Your skin has cleared up.”

I nod. My skin has cleared up since quitting sugar. One of the reasons I quit sugar in the first place was because I heard it can contribute to pimples. I recently heard gluten can also cause pimples. So perhaps the gluten free month will kick my break-outs once and for all.

Quitting gluten has proven to be a lot harder than quitting sugar and becoming vegan. But if my halmoni can do it, so can I.

Leave a Reply

