Unclogging the Sink

My bathroom sink has been clogged for the last month. It was draining slower and slower until one day it was completely stuck. The water wasn’t draining at all.

I was trying hard to unclog it on my own before I resorted to calling a plumber. I tried the baking soda and vinegar method and even bought a plunger. But no luck.

I knew exactly why it was clogged. My hair was stuck in the drain. But I didn’t know how to get to the drain to pull it out. So finally I called my landlord, and he called a plumber.

When the plumber came, he showed me how to unscrew the pipe, so I could declog it myself next time. It wasn’t hard at all. But I needed someone to show me how the first time around.

The state of my sink last month was a mirror for my emotions. About the same time my sink clogged up so did my shame. I had multiple shame attacks throughout November and spent several days immobilized, wallowing on the floor in my room.

I was quite aware of the fact I was wallowing. I simply didn’t know what to do to fix it. I couldn’t figure out how to declog my shame on my own.

I was trying desperately to figure it out by myself. I used all the tools I had learned and was frustrated they weren’t working. Until I finally realized my deep desire to be so independent was a deep symptom of the cause of my shame. And it was ok to ask for help. It was ok to call a plumber to show me how to get unstuck.

Even if the solution was something I could do on my own. I simply needed someone to show me how the first time around.

Sometimes you just need to call a plumber. And that’s ok.

It’s ok to ask for help.

Leave a Reply

