The Soundtrack of my life- I am my own dj

The other night as I was drifting off to sleep the chorus of The Last DJ by Tom Petty was playing through my head.

And there goes the last DJ
Who plays what he wants to play
And says what he wants to say
Hey, hey, hey

I realized I’m my own DJ. I can chose what soundtrack I want to play in my head.

Sometimes, though, the music fights back.

I wrote this song a few months ago called Voices. It’s about the internal voices in my head. A lot of times the loudest voices aren’t the ones I want to be listening to.

Every morning I wake up to the soundtrack
playing in between my ears.
When I listen to closely to the music,
I begin to drown in my tears.

For the last few months, I’ve been slowly working on turning down the volume of those voices of fear, shame, and the critic. The critic is probably the loudest of them all.

But my free spirit is strengthening her vocal chords more and more each day. And here is what she has to say today:

I am my own DJ.
I can play what I want to play
And say what I want to say.
Hey, hey, hey.

Leave a Reply

