First Haircut

Medusa

Medusa

Today I cut my hair. By myself. This is exciting.

I remember years ago my friend S telling me he wanted to learn how to give himself a haircut. It blew my mind. You can cut your own hair? I didn’t know that was a thing.

Fast forward to Korea. My good friend M used to cut her own hair. I never knew how she did it. I just knew she did. So when her sister came up to visit last weekend, I had a hunch that she probably knew how to cut her own hair too. I was going to ask her to cut mine. But then she told me how to do it yourself.

She used the upside down ponytail at the top of the head method. The wheels started churning in my head. Maybe I didn’t need her to cut my hair. Maybe I could do it on my own.

So a few days ago. I went for it. I did the upside down ponytail version. But the thing is, I never was a big fan of layers. And that was the layer method. I didn’t quite like how it turned out. Plus I was too nervous to cut too much off, so I didn’t do a very good job.

Today I decided to fix it up. I went for the straight cut version. I think it turned out nicely. Now I’m waiting for my hair to dry to see how it looks in real life.

Here’s to my new life sans hair salons. #Yearofquitting

First and last Korean perm from last winter. It's digital.

First and last Korean perm from last winter. It’s digital.

Leave a Reply

