And She Was A Beautiful Butterfly

“Then he nibbled a hole in the cocoon, pushed his way out, and….

He was a beautiful butterfly.”

~ The Very Hungry Catepillar by Eric Carl

Today as I was walking home from the river I ran into a clown. He was making balloon animals for little kids. I decided to be a little kid and line up for one, too. I waited very patiently for all the other kids to get their balloon first before I asked for mine.

“Can you Make a bird,” I asked.

“How about a butterfly?” He responded.

“Ok,” I said.

“It takes two balloons, so do you mind waiting until the end?” he asked. He was only making one-balloon balloon animals for all the little kids. It was sweet of him to splurge and give me a two-balloon creature.

wpid-2015-10-20-04.26.36-1.jpg.jpeg

As I walked home with my blue and green butterfly I thought it was an apt representation of myself. I feel like for the last ten months, I’ve been hibernating in a cocoon. And I’m only just beginning to fight my way out in order to start flapping my new wings. Except I’m scared that I won’t be able to fly. So I keep sorta sitting half way in the cocoon before I jump off a cliff to test if my wings work.

Maybe I’m almost ready.

“Then she nibbled a hole in the cocoon, pushed her way out, and…

She was a beautiful butterfly.”

~The Salgu Files by Salgu

Leave a Reply

