My top 5 blogs

There are 5 blogs I follow religiously. I don’t even have them bookmarked because I know the urls by heart. These 5 blogs have heavily influenced and inspired The Year of Quitting and The Unplanning Project.

1. Zenhabits

I’ve been following Zenhabits for the last couple years since my friend K introduced it to me offhandedly on one of our bus chats. I’ve picked up quite a few tips and habits for planning, being more efficient, and learning to live more minimally.

2. Bemorewithless

I’ve been following bemorewithless for about the last 6 months since I followed a link from Zenhabits over to her page. All the minimalist bloggers tend to follow, encourage, and promote each other, so I trust their recommendations. I couldn’t have started reading this one at a more perfect time in my life. I found her posts right at the cusp of implementing “The Life Changing Magic of Tidying” by Marie Kondo, which transformed the way I relate to stuff, and at the beginning of my Year of Quitting.

My all time favorite post of hers is the one about making more cuts. Every month, I go through and pick my list of cuts which compliment whatever I’m quiting that month. Some of my additional cuts from the past few months include reading on the bus, wearing a watch, and using air-conditioning.

3. Anulife

I went to college with the author of Anulife. I didn’t know her very well, but we took a Hindi course together. I’d click on her blog posts on FB and find myself subconsciously looking forward to every new post she would write. I think secretly I always wanted to have a similar blog about my own life, and following her posts over the last 4 years was a big influence in finally starting The Salgu Files.

4. Richard Rohr’s Daily Meditations

In the past month on twitter, I’ve been following Richard Rohr and the Center for Action and Contemplation which he founded. Everyday both accounts post a new link to his daily meditation. Everyday, I look forward to reading what he has to say. In each post he explores his “Wisdom Lineage,” the influences to his spirituality. This week he’s talking about Jung. This is the only one who’s url I don’t know because it’s actually a daily email rather than a website.

I’ve adapted my favorite quote of his as the slogan to The Unplanning Project:

“The opposite of faith is not doubt. The opposite of faith is control.” ~Richard Rohr

5. Storyline Blog

A couple years ago in book club we read “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” by Donald Miller, who runs the Storyline Blog . My good friend K, who picked the book, mentioned that Donald Miller has a blog which she occasionally reads. I started reading it every once in a while, and implemented one of his planning methods into my life for about a year. He recommends that everyday you can do about 3 things. So pick three and focus on those and try to get the most important thing done in the morning.

His post “Starting Life over Means Learning When to Quit” was the direct inspiration for The Year of Quitting.

“Sometimes it’s okay to quit.” -Donald Miller

Writing this post reminds me of an icebreaker question my friend D came up with in college: “What website is your homepage set to?” I guess asking, “What are your top 5 blogs?” would be an offshoot of that.

Those are my top 5. What are yours?

3 thoughts on “My top 5 blogs

  1. Maggie says:

    Hi Swaglu! I am really enjoying keeping up with you through the Salgu Files. I’m so proud of you and your year of quitting and the unplanning project! You rock! I love Zenhabits and I’ll have to check these other blogs out. Would love to skype at some stage!

    • Salgu says:

      Hey Mags, Thanks for reading! I’m glad you are liking the posts! 🙂 I’m still in limbo, but hopefully should be all settled by next month. So send me an email sometime after next month to set something up!

Leave a Reply

