People are like peaches

Yesterday I bought a box of peaches for 2,000 won. That was a steal! That’s about 20 peaches that usually go for at least 20,000 up to 40,000 won.

The catch?

They were rotten. They were all moldy. In fact, when I walked past them earlier in the afternoon, they were going for 3,000 won and a few hours later the price had been slashed down to 2,000.

Last month, I wrote about the joy of buying produce on sale. It’s become my new favorite hobby.

Seriously, I never thought I would get so giddy about buying rotten food. But I am. I was super proud of myself for scoring such a jack pot. Usually I can only get 5 or 6 rotten peaches for that price. But a whole box?!

Anyway, the trick is you gotta salvage them right away. So I took my box home and started cutting off the moldy bits.

It takes time. It probably took at least 30 minutes to an hour to go through all the peaches. The first time I did this process,  I remember asking my friend M, “Why don’t people do this more often?” And I realized it’s because it takes so long. Most people don’t have time for that.

Luckily, that’s the one thing I have a lot of.

Time.

Time to do whatever I want.

I often tell myself. Time is money. This is usually my justification for paying more for a train ticket or airplane ticket so I can get somewhere faster. But these days I usually do the opposite. I buy things cheaper, knowing that they will take more time.

While I’m cutting the peaches,  I’m realizing that you can’t really tell from the outside how bad it’s gonna be. Some peaches looks really gross. And there’s a lot of mold I have to cut off. Some less so.

Sometimes when I cut into them, the deteriorating parts are only on the surface, and the rest of the inside is totally fine. Other times the rot cuts to the core, and spreads in shoots, veins of rot, out other sides of the peach, so it’s really difficult to cut around and salvage all the good parts.

But even when that happens,  there is always something salvageable. There are always precious, golden, wonderful parts inside. They just take more effort to dig out.

I guess people are like that too. Everyone is salvageable. No matter how rotten or broken they might appear on the outside. You just need to devote some time to them, or yourself, to find out.

Peachy

Peachy

Leave a Reply

