My First Retirement

This month I’m quitting my job. In fact, I’m retiring.

Often times people wait their whole lives to retire and start doing what they really want. But I’m not most people. I’m 28 (29 in Korean age) and I’m retiring after 6 years of teaching. I’m not planning to ever teach at an elementary school again and I am excited to start the rest of my life.

For my mid-life retirement I’m taking a year off from the world. I’ve saved enough that I don’t have to work for an entire year. I may work a few jobs here and there, but only if it’s doing something I am passionate about, not just because I need the money. Starting on September 1st, 2015 I’m beginning my sabbatical year, during which I have one main goal: to learn to love myself.

I have a lot of intentions and side projects during the rest of this year and going into the next, so I’m starting this blog to document the journey. This blog is mostly for me, so I theoretically don’t care if you enjoy it or not, find it entertaining, agree with what I say, or get something out of it. But with that said, if you do get something out of it- great! And if not, that’s fine too.

2 thoughts on “My First Retirement

  1. Cass Engle says:

    I’m so impressed and excited to follow your journey!! 🙂

    • Salgu says:

      Thanks Cass! The Desire Map has definitely been a huge inspiration for this. I’m so grateful you recommended it to me!

Leave a Reply

